Complete list of public holidays cancelled by Yogi Adityanath cabinet; government employees can still take restricted holidays

The Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath-led Uttar Pradesh government, during its third Cabinet meeting, on Tuesday, cancelled as many as 15 public holidays announced by the previous Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) governments, according to the Indian Express. However, the official release later clarified that all government employees can still avail the restricted holidays on these days. In the Cabinet meeting, the incumbent state government cancelled 15 holidays that were declared to mark the birth and death anniversaries of various eminent personalities. “Instead, students in schools and colleges would now be taught about the great personalities on these days,” Cabinet minister Shrikant Sharma said on the latest decisions of the government. Speaking at the occasion of Dr BR Ambedkar’s 126th birth anniversary, CM Adityanath expressed his concern over the deterioration in academic sessions due to the increasing holidays.