Ravenshaw University Political Science Association (RUPSA) inaugurated (Source: OdishaDiary)

70819 Ravenshaw University Political Science Association (RUPSA) inaugurated (Source: OdishaDiary)
Cuttack: A meeting of former and present political science students and teachers of erstwhile Ravenshaw College and present Ravenshaw University was held on 18th November 2016, in the University under the presidentship of  Dr. Asima Sahu , HOD, Political Science, Ravenshaw University, and an Alumni Association known as Ravenshaw University Political Science Association (RUPSA) was formed.  The first-batch (1959-61) of PG Political Science student of Ravenshaw College, Mr. Lalit Mashing, the former ambassador to USA and the former Foreign Secretary of Government of India was unanimously elected as the first president of the association with Dr. Bhagaban Kar and Prof. Niranjan Barik as the Vice-Presidents. Dr. Asima Sahu, HOD, Political Science was elected as the secretary and treasurer of the association with Mr. Pramod Pati as the student coordinator.  Mr. Manshing recollected his student days in Ravenshaw College and reminisced how he surmounted various problems to become the first odia in Foreign Service, the first odia to become the High Commissioner of UK and ambassador to USA and finally the first odia to be the foreign secretary of India. In his days there was no electricity and he had to read in lantern light and had to walk long distance to reach the school. If he could do it while resources and infrastructure were so less, now more and more odia students can make it to civil services which provide lot of opportunities to serve the people. Answering a question he said that his stint as ambassador in the US was most challenging and rewarding as he could change the perception of many key political actors and policy makers positively towards India which resulted in the conclusion of the Civil Nuclear deal.  Among others, Prof. Sanjay Kumar, Director, CSDS, Mr. Pratap Pattnaik , Prof. Jugal Mishra, Dr. Pramod Kumar Mangaraj, Adv. Sarat Satpathy , Dr. Netajee Abhinandan, Dr. Gyan Ranjan Swain, Dr. Janjeswar Sethy, Dr. Omkar Rout, Mr. Pramod  Pati, and many students and teachers were present in the meeting. It was resolved to hold bi-annual meeting of the  association, organise lectures, discussions and debates in the university and outside to disseminate knowledge about political issues, publish journals, monographs, books under the auspices of the association, with the overall aim of strengthening the political science discipline in general and the political science department in particular. In the short run, it aims to build a departmental library with books, journals and digital recourses and float scholarship for poor and meritorious students. Secretary Dr. Sahu appealed to the present and future members of the association to contribute generously to the new association in different possible ways. – See more at: http://orissadiary.com/CurrentNews.asp?id=70819#sthash.54QwC6Ls.dpuf