Who will be the next President of India? BJP to decide freely based

New Delhi, March 12: The results of the Assembly elections in the five states, particularly in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, have given enough power to the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) to elect the 14th President of India of its choice. The incumbent President of India Pranab Mukherjee is all set to retire in July.
In the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections results 2017, the BJP has won 325 seats with its allies and in Uttarakhand Assembly elections results 2017, the party has won 57 seats. Together, it would provide a free hand to elect its own candidate to the top constitutional post.
Mukherjee had won the Presidential elections in July 2012 by securing 7,13,763 votes, about 70 per cent of the total polled. In his opposition was former Lok Sabha Speaker PA Sangma, who had the support of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).